Nobel Prize in Economics 2021 announced

 This time three economists David Card, Joshua Angrist and Guido Imbens have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics 2021.

 main point

 David Card is an American Canadian, Joshua Angrist is an Israeli-American and Guido Imbens is a Dutch-American economist, this time the Nobel Prize in Economics has been awarded for insights into the labor market and "natural experiments".

Half of the award went to David Card (a professor at the University of California, Berkeley) "for his empirical contributions to labor economics".  David Card's work focuses on the labor market effects of minimum wage, immigration and education.

 The other half of the prize was awarded to Joshua Angrist (Professor of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)) and Professor Guido Imbens of Stanford, "for their methodological contributions to the analysis of causal relationships".

 Nobel Prize in Economics

 The Nobel Prize in Economics was first awarded in 1969.  This award is given by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.  In 1969, Jan Tinbergen and Ragnar Frisch were the first winners of the award.  The official name of this award is the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.

What is World Tread Organization

Previous Post Next Post